A New Jersey Teen with a Vision – An Interview with DUMBASS

Recently, we sat down with one of Multiply’s Signed Artists, DUMBASS.

M: Where are you from, how old are you?

D: I’m from North Jersey, and I’m 16.

M: When did you first start music making?

D: I’ve been playing electric and acoustic guitars for years but I started to make something with it a few months ago.

M: Who was your inspiration?

D: Tyler the Creator and Mick Jenkins.

M: Where did your love of this type of music come from?

D: I grew up around country music and I never really liked it, it wasn’t my style. That’s when I got into rap and rock.

M: Your friend and frequent collaborator Karter, how long have you known him? Did you grow up or go to school together?

D: It’s crazy, I met him when he only had 3 songs out. He lives across the country but we’re so tight, I feel like he’s next door. That’s really my homie.

M: Do you have any secret projects you’re working on?

D: I am, actually. I have a few songs that you wouldn’t expect to come from me. I might drop them as an album someday.

M: Do you do anything other than music? If so, what?

D: I run track at my shitty high school. I have a minimum wage job, and I skate sometimes.

M: Where does the name DUMBASS come from?

D: (laughs) If you know me somewhat or in real life, you know that I can be dumb as fuck sometimes. So, everybody called, and still calls me DUMBASS from the very beginning and I took that over with me to my music.

M: Do you have a special someone in your life?

D: As of right now, ya boy lonely. I don’t really fuck with nobody.

M: Lastly, where can we find your music?

D: You can find my music on Spotify, Amazon, iTunes, almost anywhere. I recommend listening to Game Over, the EP I just dropped. Special Shoutout to Karter.

Follow all of DUMBASS’ socials and his SoundCloud on his webpage https://multiplymg.wordpress.com/dumbass .

One thought on “A New Jersey Teen with a Vision – An Interview with DUMBASS

Leave a comment